<

Activities & Attractions

The Snowdonia National Park is a special part of the country where people come to relax and enjoy a wide range of leisure activities in spectacular surroundings.
Visit www.snowdonia-npa.gov.uk

 

Listed below are just some of the many attractions and activities accessible from Coed Gelert. For more information use the web-links provided. Also see www.visitwales.com
www.attractionsofsnowdonia.com and ww.visitsnowdonia.info

 

Walking & Hiking
The area has a wide variety of walks available including many challenging mountain routes. There are 6 different routes up Snowdon alone. www.walkingnorthwales.co.uk
www.walkingbritain.co.uk

 

Beaches
Snowdonia also has miles of picturesque coastline and beaches. These include Morfa Bychan, Portmadog - a wide popular beach, also known as Black Rock Sands.
Morfa Nefyn, Pwllheli - an idyllic, crescent of sand.
Dinas Dinlle, Caernarfon - a big beach and promanade.

 

Wildlife
The area is also home to a variety of wildlife including birds of prey and the very rare Snowdon lily. There are RSPB reserves at Coed Garth Gell and Arthog Bog. Also RSPB Glaslyn Osprey Project, Pont Croesor - viewing site (March-Sept)www.rspb.org.uk

 

Mountain Biking
There are a wealth of trails and cycling routes throughout the area including Beddgelert Forest. There are also single track trail centres at Coed-y-Brenin Forest Park and Betws-y-Coed.www.mbwales.com

 

Watersports & Fishing
Water-based sports are also very popular.

National White Water Centre, Bala www.ukrafting.co.uk

Bala Adventure & Watersports Centre www.balawatersports.com

Plas Menai National Watersports Centre www.plasmenai.co.uk

www.fishing.visitwales.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Historic Buildings & Gardens
Penrhyn Castle, Bangor (NT) www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Criccieth Castle www.cadw.wales.gov.uk
Caernarfon Castle www.caernarfon-castle.co.uk
Bodnant Gardens, Conwy(NT)www.bodnantgarden.co.uk
Plas Brondanw Gardens, Llanfrothen www.brondanw.org
Portmeirion Village www.portmeirion-village.com
www.cadw.wales.gov.uk
www.gardensnorthwales.co.uk

 

Steam Railways
Welsh Highland Railway & Ffestiniog Railway www.festrail.co.uk
Snowdon Mountain Railway www.snowdonrailway.co.uk
www.greatlittletrainsofwales.co.uk

 

Museums & Art Galleries
Gwynedd Museum & Art Gallery, Bangor
National State Museum, Llanberis www.museumwales.ac.uk

 

Indoor Sports & Swimming
Glaslyn Leisure Centre, Portmadog

 

Golf
Portmadog Golf Club www.porthmadog-golf-club.co.uk
Nefyn & District Golf Club www.nefyn-golf-club.co.uk
Pwllheli Golf Club www.pwllheligolfclub.co.uk
www.great-golf.co.uk

 

Other Visitor Attractions
Sygun Copper Mine www.syguncoppermine.co.uk
Electric Mountain www.electricmountain.co.uk
Anglesey Sea Zoowww.angleseyseazoo.co.uk
Gypsy Wood Park www.gypsywood.co.uk
Greenwood Forest Park www.greenwoodforestpark.co.uk
The Hydro Centre, Ffestiniog Power Station
Llechwedd Slate Caverns

www.llechwedd-slate-caverns.co.uk
Pili Palas Nature World www.pilipalas.co.uk

Tree Top Adventure, Betws-y-Coed
The Fun Centre, Caernarfon www.thefuncentre.co.uk
Glasfryn Parc Activity Centre www.glasfryn.co.uk

Zip World Snowdonia www.zipworld.co.uk